Part 2: IL CCL Class

$150.00

This 8-hour class is the second half of the Illinois Concealed Carry 16-hour curriculum. It is for applicants who have previous training that meets the Illinois State Police requirements for the first 8 hours of the curriculum.

On July 9, 2013, Public Act 98-63, the Firearm Concealed Carry Act, became state law (PUBLIC SAFETY (430 ILCS 66/) Firearm Concealed Carry Act.).  HB0183 (PDF file) may also be of interest.

You should read the ENTIRE law; this class will be focusing on the following, as required by The State of Illinois :

THE LAW SEGMENT:

430 ILCS 66/10(h) "If an officer of a law enforcement agency initiates an investigative stop, including but not limited to a traffic stop, of a licensee who is carrying a concealed firearm, upon the request of the officer the licensee shall disclose to the officer that he or she is in possession of a concealed firearm under this Act, present the license upon the request of the officer, and identify the location of the concealed firearm."

430 ILCS 66/65 - Prohibited Areas

The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et seq.

720 ILCS 5/7-1 - Use of Force in Defense of a Person

720 ILCS 5/7-2 - Use of Force in Defense of Dwelling

720 ILCS 5/7-3 - Use of Force in Defense of Other Property

720 ILCS 24/1 et seq. - Unlawful Use of Weapons

Video presentations will also be shown on:

  • Shooting while moving
  • Admin, tactical and combat / slide-lock reloading
  • Clearing common firearms
  • Drawing from concealment
  • Four rules of firearm safety
  • Justifiable Use of Force, Officer Interaction and the Aftermath

Handouts will be given on:

  • Applicable Illinois Statutes and Definitions
  • Current list of places restricted from concealed carry

THE WEAPON HANDLING SEGMENT:

This class will cover dry fire practice drills and handgun fundamentals using a laser gun at distances of 5, 7, and 10 yards, and live fire qualifications with a concealable firearm consisting of: (a) a minimum of 30 rounds; (b) 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards (15 feet), 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards (21 feet), and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards (30 feet) at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP. A score of 70% must be achieved, which will not be difficult if you give it 100% effort.

At the end of this class, you will receive an Illinois State Police Concealed Carry Firearm Training Certificate, which you will submit along with your previous training certificate(s), with your application for a concealed carry permit in Illinois. Students must be present for the entire 8 hours and meet all course requirements to receive a certificate.

WHAT TO BRING TO CLASS:

  • A copy of the certificate(s) that show that you meet the Illinois State Police requirements for the first 8 hours of the curriculum (we will keep this copy).
  • Residents: IL Drivers License and FOID card.
  • Non-Residents: Drivers License or other government-issued photo identification card.
  • Students will bring their own concealable firearm, 50 rounds of ammunition (no reloads), and two extra magazines or speed loaders to the range. For the live shooting portion, also bring hearing protection, safety glasses, hat with a brim, and an outer garment that encloses the handgun.
  • Pad of paper, black pen and pencil.
  • B-27 silhouette targets will be furnished. 

CALL US AT (630) 219-4098. 

For the Illinois Carry  Permit, you are required to have 8 hours of firearm safety classes. If you do not, this class covers what you need to know:  PART 1 - Basic Pistol Course

  • Private and corporate classes -- give us a call at (630) 219-4098.
Share