Illinois Concealed Carry License

The State of Illinois requires 16 hours of training consisting of the following: 

  1. Firearms Safety Instruction: basic firearm handling safety rules; home storage; vehicle storage; public storage.
  2. Basic Principles of Marksmanship Instruction: stance; grip; sight alignment; sight picture; trigger control.
  3. Care, Cleaning, Loading and Unloading of a Concealable Firearm Instruction: gun identification (revolver, semi-automatic, misc.); ammunition identification and selection; safety and cleaning protocols; cleaning equipment; loading and unloading.
  4. All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the Ownership, Storage, Carry and Transportation of a Firearm.
  5. Weapon Handling: dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals; dry fire practice drills from concealment; live fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals.

All applicants must pass a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of: (a) a minimum of 30 rounds; (b) 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards (15 feet), 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards (21 feet), and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards (30 feet) at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP. A score of 70% accuracy must be achieved. If applicant does not have a firearm, a 22 LR pistol or revolver can be provided for $25, including ammunition.

Below is a list of training courses acceptable to satisfy the above-mentioned training requirements, consistent with Section 75(i) of the Act . Previous training certificates must be submitted to the instructor and with the Illinois Concealed Carry Firearm Training Certificate. 

COURSE TITLES AND ACCEPTABLE CREDITS

4 HOURS for any of the following:  Illinois Hunter Safety Course  -  Utah Concealed Carry  -  Florida Concealed Carry  -  Nevada Concealed Carry  -  Missouri Concealed Carry  -  Kentucky Concealed Carry  -  Michigan Concealed Carry  -  Chicago Firearms Safety Course.

8 HOURS for any of the following:  NRA Basic Pistol  -  Basic Pistol  -   NRA Personal Protection in the Home  -  NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home  -  Honorably discharged military personnel receive 8 hours and must supply a copy of their DD-214 or NGB-22. Current military personnel will need to provide documentation identifying the holder as an active member of the US Armed Forces (CAC or DD Form 2 ID cards in green, blue, or red, for instance).

Per the Act, Section 75.g. Independent of your total credit hours, everyone will still have to take the 8 hours of training required by law covered in Part 2.

The 16 hours is broken into two parts:

PART 1 - 8-hour Basic Pistol Course - $100

PART 2 - 8-hour Illinois Concealed Carry Law - $150

 

TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR THE ILLINOIS CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT, THE APPLICANT MUST:

  • Successfully complete the 16 hours of training outlined in the ISP Curriculum.
  • Must achieve 70% or higher accuracy on the shooting qualification. There are no refunds if score is not achieved.
  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Have a valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident).
  • Not be prohibited by Federal law from legally possessing a firearm.
  • Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application with $150 for residents, and $300 for non-residents. 

FINGERPRINTING

Fingerprinting is optional for the permit. Those who get their electronic fingerprints taken are expected to receive their permit up to 30 days sooner. ISP will  only accept electronic prints from an ISP-approved vendor. With electronic prints submitted with application, ISP has 90 days in which to process or deny the application.

ILLINOIS CONCEALED CARRY FIREARMS LICENSE will currently be honored in the following States (we will update as needed):

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin.

Illinois does not honor any other State's permit or license.

 

 

Share